I feel this guys pain. Claims to be layed off over CEO sillyness.


Some gal on Mashable (a very informative internet geeky website that I enjoy) posted this video about a guy who was supposedly fired by Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer for not being enthusiastic about “Bing.”

According to Jennifer:

As the story goes, Ballmer was excitedly and repeatedly yelling Bing at the meeting, even pointing to staffers, putting them in the hot seat and telling them to say Bing. When the man in question didn’t exude the right enthusiasm, Ballmer fired him on the spot.

We can’t verify if the video is authentic in nature, but we have contacted the guy who uploaded it for comment, and we’ll update this post when we know more details. What do you think: real or fake?

(Warning: strong language)

I can just imagine my old CEO doing the same.

I remember one morning meeting it was a “treat” to have Scott Klein come to our local offices to discuss “the direction of the company” after being delisted from the market. This was about the same time he was making excuses for the company’s performance and issues with bad debt (he also failed to tell investors that he was reducing credit restrictions on new accounts. There is a Lawsuit for That.) First off he is very picky with beverages. Want to get under his skin? Drink a COKE. LOL. He takes off his glasses for pictures. That is funny. He refused to eat what the rest of us were having for breakfast. He made a big stink about it. He sounded like a spoiled brat. (I was chatting with the person he had his EAA call to fix the problem. lol.) Next, instead of discussing the company’s path, he proceeded to lecture us on his “10 keys to success” or some form of lip service (How about giving your media consultants time to practice what you preach with clients?)  He is very  cocksure. Now he has his own talk show, wonder what that will do to his huge ego? You should have been to the national sales meeting earlier this year……

Look out kid. They keep it all hid. — Bob Dylan

Remember the Patrick Stephens Motorcycle stunts?

I can totally see Scott Klein going around the office yelling at folks about SuperMedia, SuperView, SuperGuarantee, SuperSearch, SuperReps, SuperPowers, and SuperMcDonald’s.  It is just SUPER! Ya Know?

After over 9 years in corporate America……..

I think I prefer to be a consultant outside of “the office” (while saving the environment by not supporting saturation distribution and phone book waste, automobile pollution from not spending over 2 hours in traffic each day, all while continuing to work over 60hrs a week with greater productivity and getting to spend more time with my family to boot!)

All this talk about how much “the office” sucks…

Reminds me of “Where’s is Your Flair?” from Office Space. About 13 seconds in.

And I can’t share that without the classic (around 55 seconds in): Red Stapler

The office. World’s most unproductive means of doing business. No longer spend 2.5 hours per day driving to the office every morning. I work more hours on my business in one day than you can ever accomplish having to drive to the office.

I have totally lost all appreciation for the retardedness that is Corporate America.

It is all a joke. Those trips and awards make you feel important. Sales is important, but it is only 10% of the process. 90% of it is after the sale is made…..

Unless you just sell phone book ads. lol. That is like doing typewriter repair.

If you can do your own search engine marketing online, why not buy your yellow page book ads online? Might save a lot of gas if those sales reps don’t have to come out and bug you. Save gas from the commutes to the office. Save trees by not sending phone books to people who don’t want them. Naaah, that is just too responsible.

I know Klein is a huge Obama supporter. I am not. Too much cronyism for my taste. I just don’t like the crony corporate environment. My beliefs lean towards a different group.

Why would Google pay up to  500 million for YELP, when Idearc is on the chopping block after bankruptcy? I know why. YELP is community and consumer based. Idearc’s Superpages is a product pitch. Think about this folks. Why would Google pay up to 500 million for YELP.com when Idearc sells to Paulson and Co. for only around 200-250 million? YELP is like Google. Idearc is like ? (the answer is….. Scott Klein.) Not very creative or innovative if you ask me.

I am not saying the company is horrible. I am must saying that I don’t trust what HE was trying to feed me. Now I have the ability to respond.

Let’s look at the recent failures:
SuperYellowPages.com (who wants to see a phone book online)
SuperLeads Multi-product
SuperView (less productivity due to documentation)
SuperGuarantee (gimmick that won’t work which was copied from ServiceMagic)
SuperMedia (not “Media” until you recognize that sales reps are not media consultants)
SuperMenuBundles
SuperSEO (doesn’t recognize that organic listings and maps is the largest share of click traffic from Google)
SuperVideo (have yet to see an Idearc client rank on Google results with SuperVideo…. it needs real Video Search Engine Optimization)

The internet is the bathroom wall of America. Folks can voice opinions and share ideas. I wonder if Scott Klein, the Idearc CEO, will ever realize that an open, honest, transparent, and creative environment is what people will invest in. Not corporate fraud, lies, gimmicks, lip-service, and cronyism! The Idearc’s CEO needs to be Scott Laver…. not Scott Klein! But Klein doesn’t want to keep the industry talents around apparently.

Does “Corporate America” suck due to the people, the attitude, the culture, or the politics? Is it just Idearc? I can’t imagine the atmosphere at Yelp or Google being as bad as Idearc. Is it just a “high performance telemarketing sales culture” that is so bad? I just can’t imagine that being good for clients? Where is the accountability after the sale? When does the real “strategizing” take place? How hard do you really think it is to sell something people need and that makes them money? How often do people get bad advice from yellow page reps? Why do some people have success and others don’t? In my opinion it comes down to what kind of people you work with and get your advice from. If I owned a local business, the moment some “FOOL” came in my office throwing out ridiculous promises, industry percentages/statistics, and prices for advertising, then asks me to sign a contract without having time to have my lawyer read the fine print……………

Let’s just say if this sounds like the way you want to market your business…… YOU DESERVE IDEARC’S SCOTT KLEIN & THE YELLOWPAGES.

That’s my .02

Leave a Reply

