SuperMedia executive murdered in Ontario California


I was just notified by a friend that a longtime Verizon Yellow Pages employee, John Hillrich, was shot and killed at the company’s Ontario California office by individuals in a black SUV.

Do you know what happened? Many people are searching for more information.

My condolences to his friends and family. Everybody stay safe.

More info:

Ontario police arrest 3 in slaying
Will Bigham, Staff Writer
Posted: 08/17/2011 02:09:04 PM PDT

Three people have been arrested on suspicion of murder in connection with a man’s fatal shooting Tuesday at a parking structure in Ontario, police said today. John Hillrich, 39, of Fontana was shot at about 2 p.m. at 3401 E. Centrelake Drive, and later died at a hospital. He was leaving his workplace at the time of the shooting, police said. His wife, 38-year-old Amy Hillrich of Yucaipa, was arrested at 7 p.m. Tuesday at the Ontario Police Department, booking records show. Late Tuesday evening detectives arrested two of Amy Hillrich’s former co-workers: David Olvera, 24, of Yucaipa, and Emilio Saldana, 22, of Calamesa. The three suspects previously worked together at a care facility in Yucaipa, according to a news release.

Police said John and Amy Hillrich were estranged, and Hillrich had a relationship with Olvera. Investigators determined that Olvera and Saldana were in a vehicle that left the scene after the shooting, according to the news release. Investigators also recovered bullet casings and other evidence at the scene, police said. The three suspects remained jailed without bail today at West Valley Detention Center in Rancho Cucamonga, according to booking records.

Police encourage anyone with information on the shooting to call Detective Gary Naranjo at 909-395-2764.
Information can also be submitted anonymously by calling We Tip at 1-800-78-CRIME.

101 Responses to SuperMedia executive murdered in Ontario California

  1. Jon says:

    He was shop and killed by his ex-wifes boy friend 😦 ery Sad Day!!

    • LS says:

      How do you know that the ex-wife’s boyfriend had anything to do with it?

    • asking says:

      Where does it indicate that any suspects have been caught…..you shouldn’t post unless you have specifics….really dumb!!!!

      • Mike Stewart says:

        The reason for my blog post was to squash rumors, since.many employees are searching for information (out of concern) on Google and I have.yet to see a relevant result in the serps. Please dont speculate, considering the sensitivity of this subject.

      • mre87 says:

        i know he got arrested for sure because i live 2 doors down and last week Ontario SWAT raided his house pretty bad. but he is innocent dont let the media put stuff in your head. its all assuming that the police are doing.

  2. Kevin says:

    WOW, John doesn’t matter if people liked John or not, this is really sad.

    I really feel for his young children.

  3. Julie Ann Forcum says:

    My sincerely condolences to his family. I have fond memories working with him in two divisions before I was retired in 2007. I am saddened for his young children, family & friends.

    AngelWishes

  4. Martha Melara says:

    R I P This is a very big lost, for all Supermedia workers,family and friends. He was a really nice guy I met him for 5 years and even in the most difficult times he was there supporting, He has a very strong and proffesional attitud, sweet and caring guy, very loving Father, I remember Him bringing His Kid to work and playing with his toys. sometimes He gave tickets to go to lakers games to top performers. John God Bless you, God give you peace. You will be remembered for ever.

    Martha

  5. Bernie Ewell says:

    This is truly a sad day indeed for all of us that knew John. John had a positive impact in everyone he knew and worked with. I was privileged to have known John since 1999 when I started with GTE and he had a great impact on my early days at the company. As stated above. I pray for his family, especially his children. Regardless if it was a personal issue with his ex wife or not, no one has the right to take the life of another, vengeance belongs to God alone. In the day of Judgement He will reap a terrible harvest against the ones who did this terrible crime. But we have to harbor no anger against them, we seek to forgive and ask God to forgive them, we seek them to come forward and start the healing process. One way or another they will be found out, they might aw well do the right thing and come forward. God bless John, rest in the arms of Jesus my friend..Bernie Ewell

  6. Carlos Huayanca says:

    My team and I had lunch with John yesterday. One hour before his tragic untimely passing. He was a great man that loved his job and his employees. He did accepted Christ and I know he is in heaven with God looking down at us. We don’t know why this happen, but God knows why. There is nothing more we can do. Knowing John, he would want us to move on and keep growing as a team. Please just pray for John’s family and love ones. Mr. Hillrich you will be deeply missed.

    Tonight kiss and hug your love ones because we never know when it will be our time. Ask for forgiveness and accept Christ in your heart because we never know when he will come for us. God Bless you all!

    John 14:1-4 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also

  7. Diane says:

    He was taken out of his car and shot six times in the face. Police believe the wife WAS involved and is being held along with two others. Very sad…

    • Diane says:

      Sorry, ex-wife.

    • Diane says:

      Someone currently working for SuperMedia. I’d rather not name names.

      • Susan says:

        The truth as far as we know it is according to a newspaper report in the San Bernardino Sun. His ex-wife and 2 of her former co-workers are all in custody and being held without bail. They have been linked to the car and bullet casings. None of that is important, though really. What is important is the we support his kids and his entire family in prayer and remember the quality of the man we mourn.

  8. Douglas Petrovich says:

    I am a cousin of John’s, and for all of his family, I want to express my deepest thanks to all of you who have posted words of sympathy and encouragement to all of us. We are all shedding tears of sorrow and trying our best to come to grips with his loss. I am especially thankful to hear your comments about John’s kind heart and strong character. I can tell you that since the apple does not far from the tree, much of what you have seen in John Jr. is a reflection of his father, John Sr., who is about as sweet and tenderhearted of a man as you will ever meet. If you know and have come to appreciate John Jr., and you happen to see his father in the days or weeks ahead, please express thanks to him for all of the positive traits that he instilled in his son. I only wish I could be there myself, but I am stuck in Toronto, far away. At the hospital, John Sr. collected his family members together and gave them one message upon hearing of his son’s death: “God is still on the throne.” This is a fitting statement, and we can be thankful for his calmness and composure in the midst of his enormous pain. Please pray for John’s sisters also. May God’s richest blessings be upon you all.

    • Simon says:

      “God is still on the throne.” !!

      That kind of faith and strength has uplifted me and I hope it uplifts you all too, because it is the ONE thing that we can count on…and LOVE is being poured out on us from God’s throne to wash away all the MUD that life flings our way.

      Sympathy and prayers going out to John’s friends, family, and staff. I was blessed by the encouraging words John shared with me when he was the RVP that oversaw my division. That goes a long way and meant a lot to get a pat on the back for working hard…and I know a lot of other reps feel the same way. IT’S TIME to be the best we can be and show love and appreciation for each other!

  9. Son of an employee says:

    Heres the article, to lay to rest any rumors…..may John Rest In Peace and may his kids find comfort from the Lord… http://www.sbsun.com/breakingnews/ci_18700761

  10. Nicole says:

    John was truly a amazing person. He is going to be deeply missed. My heart goes out to his children and loved ones. He was a person who could take all the stuff we get from corp and turn into something so positive and get you to focus to make a better you.
    Remember “IT’S OUR SHIP” he said, its in our hands let’s be successfull. He asked you about your family, he showed interest in your day to day activity. He showed people he cared. He made you ROLL PLAY even though you didn’t want to. He was open to suggestions and opportunites and never once shut you down. What a great person we had around us and he will always be remembered. Thank you John for everything I know you are in heaven now.

  11. Ontario rep says:

    Mike Stewart
    John was one of the most valuable assets this company ever had or will have. He was near and dear to my heart and always treated us like his family. Not the clown you made Jim out to be in your ridiculous post. Pull your website down and get a life.

  12. Drew says:

    John was one of the “Greats” he was on his way to Phoenix later that afternoon to see our Office for a new assignment. John Hillrich said to me when I had left the company for a few months you need to come back home. He was a good mentor and friend. He touched us all. Drew-Phoenix

  13. Lisa says:

    John was a wonderful man! Full of positivity and encouragement. Even in the hardest of times. He would always make time to stop in on everyone’s cubes and say hello and give a high five! No matter how busy he was. Even when I was only a receptionist. He always made time to be respectful and acknowledge you. To really make you feel that what ever job you were doing it really mattered. I can still see him peering over the cubes with his deep voice saying “hi there.” My heart goes out to the family and his beautiful children trying to make sense of all this. He is a man that will never be forgotten!

  14. Ontario rep says:

    John* Mike forget about your unsuccessful Career at Verizon/supermedia and move on. Don’t bash people you don’t even know. Get a real job.

  15. patty hillrich@yahoo.com says:

    John was my son, and I would like to thank you for all of your positive comments, He was the best son a mother could ask for and the best dad an child could ever dream of having. He loved his children with all of his heart and was trying so very hard to keep them safe. He rededicated his life to the Lord so yes he is looking down on all of us from heaven. His life was way to short and was taken in a most horrible way. All of us that love him are lost with out him. And as his mother I know that I will never get over the loss of my beautiful wonderful son. He was a mothers dream. And i was so blessed to have him as my son!!! The void is so large and the pain so deep…..son you will be so deeply missed!!!!

    • Mike Stewart says:

      Patty, my condolences. I lost my Mom, an Idearclp employee in a motorcycle accident in 08 at the age of only 45, so you have my simpathy and empathy. Co-workers and her friends helped me cope. It hurts so bad. Her hard work and dedication is a driving force in my pursuit to help others. I was thankful to work with her in the same office up until her departure. Memories are a true blessing.

    • Michelle Miller says:

      I am sorry for your loss. I sat next to you at a YMCA game and remember talking to you about John’s love for basketball. Your son was a great coach and a great person. He gave a speech about my son and I’ll never forget it. He was my son’s first coach and also his best coach to date. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

    • Susi Kaplan says:

      Patty my heart absolutely aches for you. That was something my husband (who was a co-worker of John’s) and I were discussing was how very sorry we felt for you and John’s dad. No parent should ever have to suffer the pain of outliving their children. And as a parent, my heart bleeds for his children too. We know he loved them dearly. I can only begin to imagine what those children must be feeling. Your son was a very special person and while I only knew him for a couple of years, I admired him and I feel his loss profoundly. He was very good to my husband…Supportive and at times critical because it was necessary. He and my husband had an easy friendship, a shared love of their work and of sports. John was quick with a smile and an emotional boost when it was needed. Thank you for sharing him with us, even for a little while. And take comfort in the fact that God had other plans for John, or he wouldn’t have seen fit to call him home so soon.

    • mickey says:

      you dont know me, Mrs. Hillrich but John john was my boss for a very long time, he Hire me, he believe in me and i was very close to him since even before ur first grandchild. i know how much Im hurting so I know youre are hurting More. I so luv and enjoyed having him as my friend & boss. i cant even function right now but I just wanted you to know He was Awesome! I miss him so much. I will meet you soon, I hope. You all did a Grand job raising him as a Person & Son! I thank you.

    • Sandee Appell says:

      Patty,
      My deepest, deepest sympathies to you and your family. I did not know John at all, but my son worked for him out of the Phoenix office. That office was closed on Wednesday. John’s death was far more traumatic and saddening to my son and superceded any emotion he had about the office closing!! As a mother, I can’t imagine your grief. We are so saddened for you and John’s children. My son said he was such a great guy…very personable and great to work for. Please know that although we can’t physically do anything for you, Luke and I have our “cyber arms” wrapped around you and John’s children. You and John are in our thoughts and prayers. May God bless you and be with you Patty, and give you strength.
      Sandee Appell

    • sandy g says:

      Patti, I worked for John for the last few years, he was the most amazing person I have ever met. he helped me through some very very difficult times, he introduced me to Sandals which has helped immensely. You raised a beautiful, wonderful, compasionate man I know i speak for all of SuperMedia whe I tell you that he was treasured. There is not a soul on this earth that did not aprreciate and look up to John. He was a wonderful father, the pride in his eyes when he would show us pictures and videos, tell us stories about the kids. I will miss him forever, my heart is broken, for your family, the kids, Yvonne and myself. Life will never be the same, they broke the mold the day god created john. I know he is an angel in heaven, and I am so sorry and just so sad that his beautiful life ended in tradegy. Your entire family is in my thoughts and prayers. Love Sandy G & family

  16. Mike T says:

    John has a large family of cousins and family that will miss him.

    He was an extreamly nice person, was very religious and followed his beliefs. He had a bright future with alot to offer. He was always positive, and gave of himself.

    I consider him a brave individual – a hero, in that it appears as though his recent actions to make a better life for his children may have led to his loss of life.

    To his immediate family, loved ones and friends, the loss of an individual such as John is painful and will hurt for time to come. It helps knowing John is now in a better place.

    Please accept my condolences and prayers.

    Mike T

  17. susan says:

    Bob- do you really have so little class as to use a post of this magnatude, written by people who are grieving the loss of a friend to grind a worn down ax? The beauty of this country is the freedom of choice. You have the choice to stay with a company or to leave it. Get over yourself and move on. This is not the time or the place for fools like you!

  18. Kasey says:

    Bob… Why would you leave such hurtful comments towards someone who now is not here to defend… only cowards leave messages and comments about someone who is unable to defend themselves.. Get a life and and pray that at some point in your life you can have some compassion…Keep certain comments to yourself. Family and friends of John (of which i was a close friend) can see this so next time keep your mouth shut and only open it when its an appropriate time… Thanks

  19. Alan says:

    Bob, You are right you can say what you want to say about how a company is ran, but do keep in mind we are talking about a man, a friend, a son and a guy that got along with everyone John Hillrich on this blog… Not about Supermedia…. You can talk all you want about the management at Supermedia and we can understand your gripe, but there is a time and a place… You talk about a heartless, arrogant, bastard, but maybe you should look in the mirror. I can complain about every job I’ve had and how management screwed things up and how they messed up my life but at the end of the day I would understand a tragic death and heartless killing is and never called for…. I’m not asking you not to hate supermedia or even if you feel John was not a good guy but have some class… I was fired as well and I know John was a good guy, a great heart and would do anything that he could to do to keep us happy. At the end of the day I didn’t perform at the standards they set and he was told to axe me… John wasn’t the Owner of Supermedia so lay off how you feel about management. If you hate John then say it and move on….

  20. Kevin says:

    I wonder why Bob didn’t make the cut…

  21. Barry says:

    I had the pleasure of working with John and seeing him grow into a leader. The things that I remember the most about him is the imprression he made on me when I first met him. He was uplifting and very respective. He knew what is role was and he went about making things happen. Not only was he a great sales person who cared about his customers, he was a great manager who cared about his people. He saw their value and went the extra mile to help them succeed. His love for life was apparant through his passion in everything that he did. It is hard to understand God’s plan in all of this and to me even harder to explain. We may never completely get it, but if remain strong in our Faith we will find in time peace.

    My prayers are for his family especially his children. May God be with you in your time of need.

  22. No Name says:

    Wake up – Someone has been murdered and a family has lost their son, brother, dad, cousin, and friend ETC. Think about how you would feel if that was your family member reading some of these nasty comments. It breaks my heart that the family has to read some of these heartless posts. My condolences to the family.

    • Megan Gilfillan says:

      Thank you.. Johnny was my big bro and he was the best big brother in the world. Everyone that really knew him loved him.. anyone else who choses to comment on here has no idea what they’re saying. We will just leave it at that.. and thanks to those who actually did know him and are leaving the nice posts about him… all of us in his family appreciate that… it means alot.

      • sandy g says:

        Megan, your brother was the best person i have ever met, what he has done for my family i am forever grateful for. I have never met a person that didn’t look up to John, He was an inspiration and truly amazing. I do know he is now an angel in heaven looking down on all of us. My deepest condolences to your entire family.

  23. Please be respectful for his family.

    This post was simply to allow people the ability to find out what happened and to share with each other…. Not for name calling. Maturity is appreciated.

  24. a friend says:

    John was a good man with a big and gentle heart. He was liked by many, loved by most, and will be missed by all. I am a better person for knowing him. May he rest in peace.

    • Mike Stewart says:

      Today would have been my Mom’s birthday…. just finished up a long day at SearchEngineStrategies in San Francisco and I am sitting in my room thinking of how much I loved & really miss her…. Tell someone you love them!

  25. Christine says:

    The one who conceals hatred has lying lips, and whoever spreads slander is a fool. When there are many words, sin is unavoidable, but the one who controls his lips is wise. A tounge of the righteous is pure silver, the heart of the wicked is of little value.
    As shameful conduct is pleasure for a fool, so wisdom is for a man of understanding.
    Solomon 18-20
    Bob or whatever your real name is you need to spend more time with Christ it is evident that you are a lost sole.
    His children are more important than your hatred and your lack of respect. I pray that you find the lord before it’s too late.

    • Ftom says:

      If this is the credit mgr Christine then you sure aint no christian bitch! When you were a mgr I saw you stab people in the back and talk shit about them to your boss. You didnt know I heard you but I have personally heard you talking to the gm and making fun of a rep one time and you guys were both laughing. I knew that rep and that rep was one of the better reps in the office but you made that person look stupid to the boss so you could look good. Take your preaching and shove it as far up your asshole as you possible can. While you are at it feel around up there and maybe you will find your brain! Your preachy bullshit has zero credibility with me because your actions spoke louder than your words.

  26. Kellie says:

    Bob, I feel sad for you. I’m sad that you have taken this terrible tragedy and made it about you. John was a wonderful man who always had a kind word for everyone. When he asked you how you were doing, he really wanted to know. He achieved so much at such a young age and I know he had more to give. I had the benefit of working for him in Los Alamitos and am glad that I was even able to know him. He had such a positive effect on so many of us and I’m sorry that you were immune to the good things yet held on to the negativity.

    • Ftom says:

      Aint about me bitch, its about what a shitty company supermedia is and every chance I get i will remind them. I love my life and am thankful to God to be out of there but I saw them screw so many people there,, thats who I stand up for. People that were there 25 fucking years got tricked into attending a meeting that they thought was for upgrading their equipment and instead turned out to be a firing fest. 20 to 30 people all at one time in a room under false pretenses got fucked. Aholes even brought in a security guard to protect themselves! How fucking laughable is that! Most companies warn in advance that pink slips are coming,,, not these pricks! That have to be shady and sneaking and surprise fuck you! Thats how they do it! They didnt give a fuck about their employees and so I dont give a fuck about them!
      Oh,,, and their stock is now under 2.00 a share!!! YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
      Praise the Lord!!!

  27. SFO says:

    Beautiful man, loving heart, gifted mind, and touching soul.

    He would be the leader that could make sense of all this and carefully navigate us through these rough waters.

    You will be missed my brother. I can feel your angel presence already. Thank you for the calm.

    Love…your colleague, student, and FRIEND

  28. patty hillrich@yahoo.com says:

    my son john loved his job and loved and respected his employees
    he always wanted what was best for them and i personally heard him on the phone with his employess always giving them an encouraging word and trying to build them up…he was a gracious and kind man…he was killed trying to protect his two beautiful children…he was the best dad a child could ever hope for…he knew that his life was in danger but he had to trust in God and keep going to keep his beautiful children safe….God had other plans and now the children are being watched over by my son from heaven and they are intrusted fully in Gods hands now…lets pray Johns death was not in vain….and Gods loving arms will be around his beautiful children and He will continue keeping them safe for my son….my grief over the death of my son is so deep the pain is beyond belief if you have ill feelings for him please keep them to yourself our family is in enough pain at this time we dont need to hear vemon from your lips….and those of you who give encouraging words thanks from the bottom of our hearts and may God bless you all and i am so thankful that john touched you with his life in some way i know he touched my life in so many ways and will be so missed….i love you john and my heart is aching so much….love you son!!!

    • susan says:

      Patti- your son was such an incredible man and touched so many lives! He was always ready to listen and kept up with all the changes to his work families lives. He was always kind and had a smile and a kind word for everyone. He was passionate about his kids, the Lakers and his job/ employees. I feel like he didn’t hire his employees, he adopted them! You can be very proud of the man you raised and know that your loss is shared by many, many people. He is safe in the arms of the Lord and you will see him again, someday. In the mean time, know that your family and his kids are in our prayers.

    • Susi Kaplan says:

      Patty, my husband and I plan to attend John’s service and I sincerely hope I get to meet you so that I can wrap my arms around you and give you hug and let you know how very loved and admired John was as a person and as a co-worker. What has happened has broken many hearts and given a lot of people a lot to think about. I keep telling myself that I was very blessed to have known John for even the brief period I did. Thank you for sharing him with us, even for a little while. And I truly believe that God must have had other plans for John, or he wouldn’t have seen fit to call him home so soon.

    • Bob says:

      Patty and family,,,, Believe it or not my heart goes out to all of you for this horrible tragedy and I am sincerely sorry for your loss. Out of respect for your family and only your family, I will make this my last post on this site. I knew John and to me he was an ok guy. He didnt impact my life in any particuloar way and I never really thought any more of him than I thought of the guy scrubbing the toilets. He was a guy, a regular guy,,,, that is to me he was a regular guy,,,,ok. I recognize to everyone else he was much much more than that and to all I do respect that. Maybe because I am just not one that is easily impressed with position and titles. and am myself a collage graduate who has held high ranking position in the military and in business in my past endeavors and am a very strong minded positive self motivated individual probably like John was. I am not on here trying to hurt you or to slander him in anyway and I sincerely apologize that you had to read the things I wrote but most if not all was about his management team and not him. He was nobody special to me and though we had some good laughs in the office that was about were it ended. I dont feel bad and shouldnt be made to feel bad because I dont have the same feelings about him as everybody else does and that doesnt make me less than human either. My beef wasnt and isnt with John and I want you to understand that. Its with supermedia! If you dont know,,, this company has hurt so many good people over the past years that it really is not even funny. I couldnt possibly adequately express the degree in which they out right lied and manipulated and flat out screwed so many people! I am not the only one that feels this way,,,, there are thousands that do. So it is my utter hatred for this company and for how they screw people, employess and customers alike that makes me want to be an ass hole to anyone and anything supermedia
      related. Just some of the idiotic responses some of these clowns write shows their arrogance and stupidity. I could go on for hours about the scum of supermedia but I wont. So again and it is probably meaningless at this point but to you and your family I apologize.

      • StupidMe says:

        Its me again and if any of you folks out there happen to read this I want you all to know that I really am sorry I spoke so negatively about the company you work for because the truth is that I really dont feel bad towards Supermedia as my stupid remarks made it sound, I was just being a jerk and thought I was being funny but now realize that the things I said were not funny at all. Maybe the things I said was because maybe I really feel that way about myself sometimes, I dont really know but to all of Supermedia I want you to know that this is one person that will not be talking smack about you or your company anymore and I ask from the bottom of my heart that you would forgive me. Ive talked to several people over the past few days and my heart was really challenged as to why I would come on here and say such hurtful things when I know in my heart that thats not how I feel. I guess I still have allot of growing up to do. Either way maybe me doing this in some small way will help and hopefully will let those I offended know that I dint mean to be an a**, it was never my intention to hurt anyone and these things should have never come out of my mouth. To each and every one of you I sincerely apologize and as far as I am concerned I am done being an insensitive jerk.

  29. A great loss says:

    John was a good man and a great leader, I will never forget his positive charismatic personality. He was a motivator like no other with inspiring words of wisdom. He really did care about his employees and their families. I know because I use to be one of them. My heart goes out to his children.

  30. Kellie says:

    Patty… I cannot possibly imagine the pain you are feeling right now. The loss is profound. Please find comfort in knowing that you raised a beautiful human being who made such a positive impact on so many. I’m hoping that you and your family – especially your beautiful grandchildren – can find peace. My heart is with you.

  31. Chris says:

    @Bob – Have some compassion. Nobody deserves to be killed for what Hillrich was and represented. It’s an awful tradegy so have some dignity. Not sure if you were held enough as a child but, if you’re starving for that much attention, I’d be happy to present you personally: “The Best Super Disgruntle Spineless Award!”

    RIP Hillrich! I’ll never forget all the great memories we shared.

  32. kevin myrick says:

    John thank you for everything you have done for me and my family…you will be missed. Mrs.Hillrich I am so sorry for your loss. I have been blessed to know your son for 9 years and what an amazing man he was.
    Thank you for sharing John with all of us

  33. Scott Kaplan says:

    I became very close with Jon the last 3 years. We worked closely together and learned a lot about the other. We were good advisors to each other. We were tough critics of each other. We pushed each other. We did this in business and for our personal relationships. Some people did not sit in the meetings with the CEOs and VPs to see that John fought for his people and clients. He challenged everyone to make sure people came first. He spirit, heart and smile are unmatched! He was a true “brother from another mother”. This is a horrible loss!

    John – I will miss your personal messages to me, Lakers texts and fun jabs. I will end our 1 long disputed fight now and admit it now in front of your mom and my wife…you are the cuter brother! Love you bro!

      • patty hillrich@yahoo.com says:

        how very sweet of you scott he was a cute guy wasnt he
        thanks so much for all of your wonderful words about my great son
        i am so very glad that he touched so many lifes!!!!
        he certainly touched mine
        forever in my heart
        love you miss you my dear son!!!
        love always and forever
        mom

  34. CB says:

    John was a great leader and I will miss him. He was going to be in our Phoenix office on 8-17 for a meeting. When we heard of the tragic news our entire office was in shock and grief. John you will be truly missed. Patty my heart goes out to you. I lost my mother on 8-16-10, 1 year ago. We will be connected by always remembering the day our loved one was taken from us. I know people say it gets easier with time… my heart aches still today as it did the day she passed away. It never gets easier… I just learn how to cope a little more each day. I went through grief counseling and it helped me tremendously. He is with our Lord now and is in good hands. My heart especially aches for his children. I am so sorry. Take care, my deepest sympathies go out to you and your family and loved ones and all the people whose lives John touched. I will never forget his bright smile and how he always had something positive to say. You did a great job as a mom to have raised such a wonderful man.

  35. Frances says:

    I want to say to John’s mother I am so sorry 1st for your loss of your son and I am so sad for this TERRIBLE tragedy!!! He did have a lot of living to do, but like you said he is with God now and protecting his children, family and friends. I am sadden that selfish people take the attention away for what is important… It is John and the loss of a son, father and friend, those things are far more important that GTE, VERIZON, IDEARC and SUPERMEDIA. I can honestly say that as a result of meeting him my life was better and he was always kind and very concerned about breaking things gently to us in the battle of the storm. I thank you Patty for you amazing faith and I hope that not only the kind words here help you and your family through this tuff time. Please know that the LORD will get you and your family through this. When I think of this situation it makes me cry and I feel very sad for your family and all of the people that were closer to him than me. I wish there was more that all of who have expressed pain for your son’s tragic death could do for your family. Patty my mother loss her son in 1995 to a drunk driver as I mentioned in my email and the loss affects everyone different. I found that some people do not know how to express their feeling of loss, so they react to a negative situation in a negative way!! I am sorry for that, but as in the case of my brother Joseph the positive out weights the negative!!!!!!! I can only ask on behalf of the Hillrich family if you do not have nothing nice to say don’t be a negative person as the world needs more LOVE, FAITH and COMPASSION for each other. In closing I will say that “if you are judging someone you have not had the chance to love them” Mother Theresa

  36. SAD says:

    I can not believe what I have read from some of these comments from some character bob – we all hae a choice to work where we want to. If you are that un happy there are other options.You may have to huster up enough guts to make the change. If you believe in yourself and your talent this should not be an issue for you. Tough company to work for but if you work every day it pays off huge in your income. I am thinking you must not put much into it. This is a place where what you put in you get back and the money makes some of the hard things feel easier to take. This is a tragic thing to happen to anyone in any family and is not the place for anyone to bash a person . I cant stand people that do the same thing over and over and expect a different result and try to bring other people down with them.

  37. Media Consultant says:

    To Patty & John Hillrich Sr.

    Your son was the most inspirational leader that I’ve ever met. I always looked up to John, as if he was my own father. I want to say to the both of you – Congratulations on raising such an excellent man. I’m certain that for the rest of my life, I will miss him dearly.

    God will make sure justice is served.

    * Please dont even give Bob and his loser friends the time of day by responding or reading their posts. They are clearly losers, have no life & if they truely didn’t care about John and the company – they wouldn’t take the time and energy to post their inappropriate comments.

    My love to the both of you.

  38. Media Consultant says:

    P.S. To All:

    Everyone please completely ignore any inappropriate comments that people may have. The people posting them are sad and pathetic, and don’t deserve your attention.

    Thanks,

  39. Martha Melara says:

    Dear Patty:
    I;m so devastated with this tragedy, John was always a very kind person, very profesional, Elegant, I was working at Loma Linda Office and since I met him I became a better person and sales consultant, he was always comitted to make a champion”s division i remember how many trainnings,how many incentives,fun trips, Motivational speeches,I remember him always with his smile coming to greet each of us, He was so nice even was buying lunch to all the division from his money, was a pleasure to work with Him, I receive 12 awards from his hands, many hugs, lot of love, He was not treating us like employees but like real family, i remember him bringing his father to the meetings and introducing him to us, He was so proud of his Dad, also remember playing with his Son, All the other comments reflect the Kind of son You raised, He was a good man,father,son,boss,friend,Man of God. Thank You john for been the Best of the West, will love you for ever.Thank You God for sending this angel in human body to bring us love,wisdom and Peace.

  40. A friend says:

    To all who have expressed such kind words for our dear John Hillrich, please take the time to visit http://www.JohnHillrich.com where you’ll find his online obituary and guestbook which is the appropriate resource to express our condolences. This current forum is stained with comments that should’ve never been allowed to publish, nor been given the attention they have, and Johns friends/family should not have to read such filth, so lets move these well wishes to http://www.JohnHillrich.com where his family can read them in peace.

    Love you John Hillrich. My heart aches for your family, parents, and children, God’s peace be with you all.

  41. A Friend says:

    To all who have expressed such kind words for our dear John Hillrich, please take the time to visit http://www.JohnHillrich.com where you’ll find his online obituary and guestbook which is the appropriate resource to express our condolences.

    This current forum is stained with comments that should’ve never been allowed to publish, nor been given the attention they have. John’s friends / family should not have to read such filfh, so let’s move these well wishes to http://www.JohnHillrich.com where his family can read them in peace.

    Love you John Hillrich. My heart aches for your family, parents, and children. God’s peace be with you all.

  42. annepw says:

    I am so saddened and shocked at the loss of John Hillrich. He was my son’s soccer coach last season and even though he was in our lives for a breif time, he made a profound impact. He clearly loved his son and he loved children. His enthusiasm was always so apparent at every practice and at every game. To the Hillrich family, you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  43. Martha Melara says:

    update for Funeral services,:
    Let’s come altogether to give the last goodbye to our beloved friend.

    Sandals Church
    Date: Wednesday, August 24th
    Time: 11:00am
    address: 150 Palmyrita Ave. Riverside 92507
    phone: 951.637.8800

    The graveside service will immediately follow at:
    Montecito Memorial Park, 3520 E. Washington St., in Colton

  44. A Friend says:

    reminder…

    To all who have expressed such kind words for our dear John Hillrich, please take the time to visit http://www.JohnHillrich.com where you’ll find his online obituary and guestbook which is the appropriate resource to express our condolences.

    This current forum is stained with comments that should’ve never been allowed to publish, nor been given the attention they have. John’s friends / family should not have to read such filfh, so let’s move these well wishes to http://www.JohnHillrich.com where his family can read them in peace.

    Love you John Hillrich. My heart aches for your family, parents, and children. God’s peace be with you all.

  45. […] Here are the number of views and keywords searched for over a very short period of time to this post. […]

  46. San Bernardino Rep says:

    To everyone that was offended by the derogatory words that I wrote I want to tell you all that I am sincerely sorry. I was being a jerk and let it get out of control. It was mean and completely unnecessary and if I could take it all back I would. No one needs to read the stupid hurtful things I said even if I was just messing around. No excuses, just heartfelt sincere apologies. For those of you that love the Lord I realize that the things I said were not acceptable and it is because of him that my heart was convicted and I felt the need to do this. I know some may not forgive me but I hope that you do as I really mean this from the bottom of my heart and am truly sorry. Again my sincerest apologies and am sorry to everyone that had to endure my foolishness.

  47. StupidMe says:

    Hi anyone and everyone,,,, I was on this site shortly after this blog got going and said some unacceptable things that I wish I wouldnt have. I regret it to the point that I am making myself physically sick over it. I dont know why I said the things I said but I am truly sorry that I did. I didnt mean to come on here and be a jerk to anyone, I just allowed myself to get out of hand for no reason and that was never ever my intention. I thought I was being funny but I realize that what I said wasnt funny at all. I want each and everyone of you to know that I am deeply sorry for the things I said and sincerely ask each and everyone of you for forgiveness. Please pray for me if you believe in prayer because I could really use some. Again, if I hurt anyone at all on this site I ask once again from the bottom of my to please forgive me, that was never my intention and I am deeply deeply sorry.

  48. patty hillrich@yahoo.com says:

    i am johns mom again thanks to all of you for your kind words
    this is so hard
    the people who wrote mean and cruel things well i hope this never happens to a member of your family and if it does i hope ignorant people dont post mean things
    my son was the best son a mom could have
    he was always looking out for his employees
    he loved his job and worked hard at it
    he also loved his two children so very much and now they have no dad
    so keep your cruel words to yourself and try going to church on sunday
    john would hope that by some miracle you to could become a child of God

    four weeks ago today he was taken from us and it hurts even more today…..please leave us alone

Leave a Reply

